The history of the École de langues dates back to 1945, when the first French summer school was set up. English courses were added very soon thereafter and, in the early 1990s, the École de français et d’anglais was established.
In 1972, the École de français was accredited to offer the Explore program for Canadian students and, in 1987, the training period for teachers of French as a foreign or second language was added.
Since 2012, the École de langues has gained momentum by launching a host of educational projects:
- Evaluation of the certificate in French as a second language program.
- Implementation of a revised and improved version of that certificate.
- Upgrading of the concentration in French as a second language of the certificate of individualized studies.
- Establishment of the program of Francization of the professors of the Université de Montréal.
- Creation of the non-credit language training sector.
- Review of the course offerings in English as a second language (implementation in the summer of 2017).
- Active participation in myriad international conferences and symposiums.
- Accreditation of the certificate in French as a second language by Languages Canada.